iOS 5 beta 5 “Set Up Your iPhone” bug (fixed)

I’ve been using iOS 5 beta 5 for a couple of weeks now, and while it improves on beta 4, there seems to be an annoying bug in this version:

“iTunes detects my iPhone as a new phone or something. It gives me the page to set up my iPhone and asks me to set it up as new or restore from backup. So every time I connect my iPhone, I must restore from backup, which is a real pain and it takes forever. Is this a known problem? What can I do to fix this?”

I’ve had a look around the web, and as far as I can see there are only a few people talking about the issue. Until Apple fix the problem, you can try these 3 things…

Solution 1 –
If wi-fi sync is enabled, backup your iPhone from Settings 
» General » iTunes Wi-Fi Sync. Then use the restore in iTunes to restore to where you left off. This seems to be the quickest fix.

Solution 2 –
If solution 1 didn’t work, change the restore option to set up your iPhone as new. Backup beforehand if you can, just in case.

Solution 3 –
I have a feeling this is something to do with the wi-fi syncing. I’ve seen my iTunes behaving oddly – trying to connect over wifi to do a backup, and failing… which seems to cause this issue. Once restored, disable wifi syncing for now.

If I find out anything else, I’ll update this post.

(My setup: Mac OS X Lion 11.0.0, iTunes 11.5b77, iOS 5 beta 5, wi-fi sync enabled).

Update (Sep 7th): Looks like Apple have fixed this in the latest beta. Wireless syncing works again.